20:00 Uhr
18.09.2020
20:00 Uhr
19.09.2020

BOYS SPACE

The Agency
Online-Performance
online
language: englisch
10€/5€ erm.

Ticket - buy now

The Agency deals with extremism and radicalisation in the internet’s filter bubbles and echo chambers. How do algorithms contribute to discrimination? What part does a body of thought that originated in digital spaces such as “4chan” or “Breitbart News” play in the emergence and exercise of violence – online as well as offline? BOYS SPACE is an immersive performance in the work cycle “Neue Männer*bewegung” (“New Men’s* Movement”). It is also, simultaneously, a server on the group chat app Discord, in which the spectators* organize themselves for their exit from patriarchy. Online as well as offline, an alternative space comes up, geared towards enabling the exit from patriarchal maleness. “Boys Will Be Boys” has lost its dogmatic value here. Spectators* encounter one another as “male characters”, meeting their “empathy partners”, listening for the confessions of other users*. They actively participate in the creation of the BOYS SPACE.

 

With a glossary accompanying the exhibition the alt-right-complex by the HMVK (Hartware Medienkunstverein) Dortmund, curated by Inke Arns, with texts by Inke Arns, Jens Kubisch, Regina Weidman – HMVK at Dortmunder U

 

Tickets for “Boys Space” are only available from September 1 in the online presale at fft-duesseldorf.reservix.de until 1 pm on the day of the performance.  The performance will take place online via the chat program Discord. You will need a computer with internet access, a stable connection and headphones. Further information can be found on your ticket.


The Agency
THE AGENCY is a young performance group that experiments with manifestations of neo-liberalism through immersive modes. Their performances, in which spectators* become gently embedded as, for example, customers* or future members*, circle around subversive agency under the conditions of post-digitalism: How do our desires, our emotions, our identities and political movements form in the post-digital era? And how is it possible, considering these conditions, to enact counter-emotions, counter-identities, counter-movements? The artistic works take up neo-liberally connotated formats (such as coaching) and their aesthetic strategies such as branding or corporate identity, subjecting the inherent institutionalised technologies of the self to a critically-affirmative overwinding – and struggle towards a utopian potential from a queer-feminist perspective. THE AGENCY was founded by Belle Santos, Yana Thönnes, Magdalena Emmerig and Rahel Spöhrer.
Credits
Artistic Direction: THE AGENCY. By and featuring: Heinrich Horwitz, Nile Koetting, Nicolas Bourbaki. Sound Design: Nile Koetting. Technology: Nicolas Bourbaki. Dramaturgy: Rahel Spöhrer. Artistic Production Management: Sofie Luckhardt. Technical Direction: Amina Nouns. With texts by THE AGENCY and quotes by Arlie Russel Hochschild, Michael Kimmel, Kathy Acker, Maggie Nelson, Leslie Jamison, Angela Nagle, John Cheney-Lippold. Our special gratitude goes out to Arlie Russel Hochschild and Michael Kimmel. A production by THE AGENCY and the Münchner Kammerspiele within the framework of the “Politik der Algorithmen” (“Politics of Algorithms”) festival. Supported by the Cultural Department of the State Capital of Munich and the Federal Culture Foundation. Supported by the Federal Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the Alliance of International Production Venues.

20:00 Uhr
18.09.2020
20:00 Uhr
19.09.2020

BOYS SPACE

The Agency
Online-Performance
online
Die Anmeldung erfolgt online ab dem 1. September.
10€/6€ erm.

The Agency beschäftigt sich mit Extremismus und Radikalisierung in den Filterblasen und Echokammern des Internets. Wie sind Algorithmen an Diskriminierung beteiligt? Inwiefern ist Gedankengut aus digitalen Räumen wie „4chan“ oder „Breitbart News“ an der Entstehung und Ausübung von Gewalt beteiligt – online und offline? BOYS SPACE ist eine immersive Performance im Werkzyklus „Neue Männer*bewegung“. Gleichzeitig ist BOYS SPACE ein Server auf der Gruppenchat-App Discord. Darin tauschen sich die Mitglieder aus und organisieren sich für ihren Ausstieg aus dem Patriarchat. Online und offline entsteht ein alternativer Raum, der den Ausstieg aus der patriarchalen Männlichkeit ermöglichen soll. Die Losung “Boys Will Be Boys” gilt hier nicht mehr. Zuschauer*innen begegnen einander als „Male Character“, treffen ihre „Empathy Partner“ und lauschen den Geständnissen anderer User*innen. Sie beteiligen sich aktiv an der Entwicklung des BOYS SPACE.

 

Die Performance BOYS SPACE erlebt ihr zu Hause. Dafür benötigt ihr einen internetfähigen Rechner und Kopfhörer. Die Anmeldung erfolgt online ab dem 1. September.


The Agency
The Agency ist eine junge Performance Gruppe, die auf immersive Weise mit den Erscheinungsformen des Neoliberalismus experimentiert. Ihre Performances, in denen Zuschauer*innen zum Beispiel als Kund*innen oder zukünftige Mitglieder sanft eingebunden werden, kreisen um subversive Handlungsmöglichkeiten (agency) unter den Bedingungen des Post-Digitalen: Wie bildet sich unser Begehren, unsere Gefühle, unsere Identitäten und politische Bewegungen im post-digitalen Zeitalter? Und wie ist es unter diesen Bedingungen möglich, counter-emotions, counter-identities, Gegenbewegungen, zu erschaffen? Die künstlerischen Arbeiten greifen neoliberal konnotierte Formate (wie zum Beispiel das Coaching) und deren ästhetischen Strategien wie Branding und Corporate Identity auf, überdrehen die darin institutionalisierten Technologien des Selbst kritisch affirmativ – und ringen um ein utopisches Potenzial aus queer-feministischer Perspektive. THE AGENCY wurde gegründet von Belle Santos, Yana Thönnes, Magdalena Emmerig und Rahel Spöhrer.
Credits
Künstlerische Leitung: The Agency. Von und mit: Heinrich Horwitz, Nile Koetting, Nicolas Bourbaki. Sound Design: Nile Koetting. Technologie: Nicolas Bourbaki. Dramaturgie: Rahel Spöhrer. Künstlerische Produktionsleitung: Sofie Luckhardt. Technische Leitung: Amina Nouns. Mit Texten von THE AGENCY und Zitaten von Arlie Russel Hochschild, Michael Kimmel, Kathy Acker, Maggie Nelson, Leslie Jamison, Angela Nagle, John Cheney-Lippold. Mit besonderem Dank an Arlie Russel Hochschild und Michael Kimmel . Eine Produktion von THE AGENCY und den Münchner Kammerspielen im Rahmen des Festivals „Politik der Algorithmen“. Gefördert durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes. Gefördert im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.