19:00 Uhr
20.09.2018

Circle of Looks

Women in Situations of Departure and Arrival
Mithu Sanyal, Miriam Koch, Madhusree Dutta
Gespräch
FFT Kammerspiele
5 €

Ticket - buy now

The media influence our perception of refugees and migrants – and our opinions. Some stories are hyped, other are not told at all. News and commentary about refugee men dominate and cement clichés and images of the Other. Women remain in the background. Is their invisibility just another injustice or also an opportunity? We will be discussing power and the public sphere, as well as the role of art in this context. In conversation with: filmmaker and curator Madhusree Dutta, cultural critic and author Mithu M. Sanyal, as well as the head of Düsseldorf’s Office for Migration and Integration, Miriam Koch.

Moderator: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen. Cooperation: “Circle of Looks”

 

The art project Circle of Looks by Adwoa Adjei, Carol Pilars de Pilar, Thyra Schmidt and Anne Schülke has invited women to talks and happenings since spring 018. In autumn 2018, Thyra Schmidt and Anne Schülke will assemble the texts and images thus collected into an artist book. An exhibition and an artist book release will take place at the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf from 7 to 10 March 2019.

Circle of Looks – Instagram

 

Circle of Looks – WDR

 

Dr. Mithu M. Sanyal, born 1971 as the daughter of a Polish mother and an Indian father in Düsseldorf, Oberbilk is an author, cultural critic and journalist. She mainly writes features and radio plays for the WDR, but also for radio stations and newspapers such as the BR, SWR, Deutschlandfunk, DIE ZEIT, MISSY Magazine, Konkret, Vice, etc. She has a regular op-ed in the taz. In 2009, she published her cultural history of female genitalia “Vulva”. In 2016, she released “Vergewaltigung. Aspekte eines Verbrechens”, for which she received the Special International Science Humanities Prize of Federal Association of the German Book Trade in 2017 and which is due to appear in English soon. At FFT, she last moderated a talk with Laurie Penny in 2017. Photo: Regentaucher

 

Madhusree Dutta, born 1959 in Jamshepur/ Jharkhand, India is director of the Academy of the Arts of the World in Cologne since 2018. The filmmaker (mainly documentary film), producer, curator, lecturer and activist is also the founder and director of “Majlis”, an interdisciplinary center for art and research in Mumbai/Bombay. As a film director, she has also worked for Bollywood. Her work mainly deals with topics such as identity/ identification, gender, democratization of artistic practices, and interdisciplinarity. Her films are shown at film festivals and art events worldwide. 

 

Miriam Koch, born 1966 in Hameln, completed her diploma in Librarianship at the University of Applied Sciences in Hanover, and then headed the department for German Research Reports at university’s library there. In 2004, she switched to politics, first as a consultant to the party chairman of the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen in the State Parliament of Lower Saxony, later as an academic advisor. In 2010, she moved to Düsseldorf as the CEO of the city council fraction of the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen. In 2014, she ran for mayor.  From 2015 until 2018, she was the City’s Commissioner for Refugees and this year took over as head of Düsseldorf’s Office for Migration and Integration. Photo: Ingo Lammert

 

 

Circle of Looks is funded by and cooperates with: Intermigras e.V., Diakonie Düsseldorf, Kunststiftung NRW, Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf, NRW-Forum Düsseldorf, Forum Freies Theater.

19:00 Uhr
20.09.2018

Circle of Looks

Frauen in Aufbruchs- und Ankunftssituationen
Mithu Sanyal, Miriam Koch, Madhusree Dutta
Gespräch
FFT Kammerspiele
5 €

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Die Medien beeinflussen unsere Wahrnehmung von Flucht und Migration – und unsere Meinung. Manche Geschichten werden medial verstärkt, andere gar nicht erzählt. Nachrichten und Kommentare über geflüchtete Männer dominieren und zementieren Klischees und Feindbilder. Die Frauen bleiben im Hintergrund. Ist ihre Unsichtbarkeit nur Ungerechtigkeit oder auch Chance? Wir diskutieren über Öffentlichkeit, Macht und welche Rolle Kunst dabei spielt. Im Gespräch: die Filmemacherin und Kuratorin Madhusree Dutta, die Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Autorin Mithu M. Sanyal sowie die Leiterin des Düsseldorfer Amtes für Migration und Integration, Miriam Koch.

 

Moderation: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen.
Kooperation: „Circle of Looks“

 

Das Kunstprojekt Circle of Looks von Carol Pilars de Pilar, Thyra Schmidt und Anne Schülke lädt seit dem Frühjahr Frauen zu Gesprächen und Aktionen ein. Die gesammelten Texten und Bilder führen Thyra Schmidt und Anne Schülke im Herbst in einem Künstlerbuch zusammen. Vom 7. bis 10. März 2019 finden im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf eine Ausstellung und ein Artistbook-Release statt.

 

Circle of Looks bei Instagram

 

Circle of Looks zu Gast beim WDR

 

Dr. Mithu M. Sanyal, geboren 1971 als Tochter einer polnischen Mutter und eines indischen Vaters in  Düsseldorf, Oberbilk ist Autorin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Journalistin. Sie schreibt Feature und Hörspiele hauptsächlich für den WDR, aber auch für Sender und Zeitungen, wie BR, SWR, Deutschlandfunk, DIE ZEIT, MISSY Magazine, Konkret, Vice etc. Sie hat eine regelmäßige Kolumne in der taz. 2009 erschien ihre Kulturgeschichte des weiblichen Genitals „Vulva“, 2016 erschien ihre Debattengeschichte „Vergewaltigung. Aspekte eines Verbrechens“, für die sie 2017 mit dem Sonderpreis Wissenschaft Geisteswissenschaften International des Bundesverbandes des Deutschen Buchhandels ausgezeichnet wurde. Im FFT moderierte sie zuletzt 2017 ein Gespräch mit Laurie Penny.

 

Madhusree Dutta, geboren 1959 in Jamshepur/ Jharkhand, Indien ist Mitglied der Akademie der Künste der Welt, Köln. Die Filmemacherin (v.a. Dokumentarfilm), Produzentin, Kuratorin, Dozentin und Aktivistin ist Gründerin und Direktorin von „Majlis“, einem interdisziplinären Kunst- und Forschungszentrum in Mumbai/Bombay. Sie arbeitete im Regiebereich auch für die Bollywood-Filmindustrie. Themen ihrer Arbeit sind u.a. Identität/ Identifikation, Gender, Demokratisierung künstlerischer Praktiken, Interdisziplinarität. Ihre Filme werden international auf Filmfestivals und Kunstevents gezeigt.

 

Miriam Koch, geboren 1966 in Hameln hat ihr Diplom im Bibliothekswesen an der Fachhochschule Hannover gemacht, anschließend war sie dort Abteilungsleiterin Deutsche Forschungsberichte an der Universitätsbibliothek. 2004 wechselte sie in die Politik, zunächst als Referentin des Fraktionsvorsitzenden der Fraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen im Niedersächsischen Landtag, später dort als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin. 2010 kam sie als Geschäftsführerin der Ratsfraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen nach Düsseldorf. 2014 kandidierte sie als Oberbürgermeister Kandidatin. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie Beauftragte für Flüchtlinge der Stadt und leitet seit diesem Jahr das Amt für Migration und Integration.