18:00
16.09.2018

DIVA: CELEBRATING OUM KALTHOUM

Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends featuring the NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music with Ruth Rosenfeld
Konzertperformance
FFT Düsseldorf, Kammerspiele, Jahnstraße 3, 40215 Düsseldorf

Even today, Egyptian singer Oum Kalthoum is one of the most influential stars of the Arab world – in her day, she was as famous and revered as Maria Callas or the Beatles. When she passed away in 1975, 4 million people streamed onto the streets of Cairo to say their goodbyes. Her improvisations sent her audiences into “Tarab”, a mix of ecstasy and trance. Director Ariel Efraim Ashbel celebrates the legend in a performance concert with international orchestra. The NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music is composed of musicians from various cultural backgrounds. Together with opera singer and performer Ruth Rosenfeld and guest musicians from Düsseldorf, they give their own interpretation of Kalthoum’s pieces. A transcultural concert – unorthodox and moving.

Lyrics of the songs in Arabic.

Idea, Concept, Direction: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Musical Director: Alexey Kochetkov. Voice: Ruth Rosenfeld. The NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music + Guest Singer: N.N. Visuals: Alona Rodeh. Lights: Joseph Wegmann. Sound: Guy James Cohen. Production: björn & björn. Initially produced as part of AUSUFERN 2016, Uferstudios Berlin. Production: Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends. Coproduced by: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, FFT Düsseldorf. Funded by the Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V. 

The concerts of the NRWedding Orchestra are created as a coproduction of the Favoriten Festival with the FFT Düsseldorf. Funded by the Kunststiftung NRW as part of the series “Music Matters – Neues Hören im Theater”.
 Partner: Eine Welt Forum Düsseldorf

Ariel Efraim Ashbel is a Berlin based artist, who graduated from the School of Visual Theater Jerusalem and holds a BA in History and Philosophy from the Tel Aviv University. His work deals with the development of interdisciplinary structures, located in the gap between theater, dance, music and installation. He has been awarded various scholarships and prices. Ashbel also collaborates with fellow makers as a performer, dramaturge and sometimes as a lighting designer. Between 2008 and 2010, he was associate artistic director of the “IntimaDance” Festival at Tel Aviv’s Tmuna Theater. In 2011, he moved to Berlin and has since contributed to various projects e.g. at HZT Berlin (Uferstudios), ausland, the Berlin Biennial, the Berlin Porn Film Festival and the transmediale festival.

18:00 Uhr
16.09.2018

DIVA: CELEBRATING OUM KALTHOUM

Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends featuring the NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music with Ruth Rosenfeld
Konzertperformance
FFT Kammerspiele
Dauer: 120 Minuten inkl. Pause
19 € / 11 € (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Die ägyptische Sängerin Oum Kalthoum gilt bis heute als einflussreichster Star der arabischen Welt – zu ihrer Zeit so berühmt und verehrt wie Maria Callas oder die Beatles. Als sie 1975 starb, strömten 4 Millionen Menschen auf die Straßen Kairos, um Abschied zu nehmen. Mit ihren Improvisationen versetzte sie ihr Publikum in „Tarab“, eine Mischung aus Ekstase und Trance. Der israelische Regisseur Ariel Efraim Ashbel feiert mit einem internationalen Orchester die Legende in einem Performance-Konzert. Das NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music besteht aus Musiker*innen mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen Hintergründen. Mit der Opernsängerin und Performerin Ruth Rosenfeld und Gastmusiker*innen aus Düsseldorf interpretieren sie Kalthoums Stücke. Ein transkultureller Konzertabend – unorthodox und berührend.

 

Der Gesang ist in arabischer Sprache.

 

 

Idee, Konzept, Regie: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Musikalische Leitung: Alexey Kochetkov. Gesang: Ruth Rosenfeld. The NRWedding Orchestra for Middle Eastern Music + Gastsänger: N.N. Visuals: Alona Rodeh. Licht: Joseph Wegmann. Sound: Guy James Cohen. Produktion: björn & björn. Erstproduktion im Rahmen von AUSUFERN 2016, Uferstudios Berlin. Produkion: Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends. Koproduktion: HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert von Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V. 

 

Der Künstler Ariel Efraim Ashbel lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er ist Absolvent der School of Visual Theater Jerusalem und hat einen Hochschulabschluss in Geschichte und Philosophie der Universität Tel Aviv. In seinen Arbeiten beschäftigt er sich mit der Entwicklung interdisziplinärer Strukturen, die in der Lücke zwischen Theater, Tanz, Musik und Installation angesiedelt sind. Er erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Auszeichnungen. Daneben arbeitet er als Performer, Dramaturg und gelegentlich auch Lichtdesigner. Von 2008 bis 2010 war er Mitglied im künstlerischen Leitungsteam des Festivals „IntimaDance“ am Tmuna Theater in Tel Aviv. Seit 2011 lebt er in Berlin und hat in verschiedenen Projekten mitgewirkt, unter anderem am HZT Berlin (Uferstudios), bei der Berlin Biennale, im ausland, dem Pornfilmfestival Berlin und dem Festival transmediale.