20:00 Uhr
01.02.2019
20:00 Uhr
02.02.2019

Footnotes (for Crippled Symmetry)

Keren Levi
Dance Performance
FFT Juta
19€/11€ (erm.)

Ticket - buy now

Morton Feldman (1926-1987) was a radical pioneer of New Music, whose compositions often lasted several hours. He was a free spirit of whom Stockhausen once demanded to know just what the hell his secret was. In a collaboration with composer Tom Parkison and installation artist Krijn de Koning, Israeli-Dutch choreographer Keren Levi takes Feldman’s composition “Crippled Symmetry” as the starting point for a performance: three dancers translate the score of the instruments into movement, seeking out the freedom hidden in form. A second source of inspiration is Franz Kafka’s text “Before the Law”. Boundaries and points of entry become a sensual experience. A very distinct cosmos of imagination, as radical as Feldman’s music.

 

Audience Talk on February 1st

 

 

Concept & Choreography: Keren Levi. Performance & Choreography: Alicia Verdú Macián, Rozemarijn de Neve, Carcom Sheffer. Sculpture: Krijn de Koning. Music: Tom Parkinson. Video: Assi Weitz. Costumes: Conny Groenewegen. Dramaturgy: Igor Dobričić. Lights, Tech: Martin Kaffarnik. Production, Tour Management: Martha van Meegen. PR: NeverLike Daisy Benz. Management: NeverLike. Transistor: Jette Schneider & Judith Schoneveld. Coproduction: Theater im Pumpenhaus, Forum Freies Theater, Zeebelt producties. Financially supported by the Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst and Fonds Podiumkunsten. Made possible bythe Veem House for Performance and ICK Amsterdam

 

Dancer, choreographer and dance teacher Keren Levi was born in Israel, where she also received her training at the School of the Kibbutz Dance Company. In 1990, she began dancing with various companies and independent choreographers such as e.g. the Kibbutz Dance Company, Batsheva, Philippe Blanchard, Joaquiem Sabate and Diane Eishout & Frank Handler. In 1996, she began choreographing her own works. She also teaches modern dance, composition and improvisation in various European institutions since 1997 – such as the Henny Jurriens Foundation in Amsterdam, the Amsterdam Theatre School, the Rotterdam Dance Academy, Impuls Tanz in Vienna, SEAD, Charleroi/Danses and tanzhaus nrw.

20:00 Uhr
01.02.2019
20:00 Uhr
02.02.2019

Footnotes (for Crippled Symmetry)

Keren Levi
Tanz
FFT Juta
Dauer: ca. 75 Min.
19€/11€ (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Morton Feldman (1926-1987) war ein radikaler Pionier der Neuen Musik, dessen Kompositionen sich gerne über mehrere Stunden erstreckten. Ein Freigeist, von dem Stockhausen wissen wollte, was zur Hölle sein Geheimnis sei. Die israelisch-niederländische Choreografin Keren Levi nimmt mit dem Komponisten Tom Parkinson und dem Installationskünstler Krijn de Koning Feldmans Komposition „Crippled Symmetry“ zum Ausgangspunkt für ihre Performance: Drei Tänzerinnen übersetzen die Noten der Instrumente in Bewegung und suchen nach der Freiheit in der Form. Als zweite Folie der Reflexion dient der Performance Franz Kafkas Text „Vor dem Gesetz“. So werden Grenzen und Zugänge zu einem sinnlichen Erlebnis. Ein ganz eigener Kosmos der Imagination, genauso radikal wie Feldmans Musik.

 

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung am 1.2. gibt es ein Publikumsgespräch.



Konzept & Choreografie: Keren Levi. Performance & Choreografie: Alicia Verdú Macián, Rozemarijn de Neve, Carcom Sheffer. Skulptur: Krijn de Koning. Musik: Tom Parkinson. Video: Assi Weitz. Kostüme: Conny Groenewegen. Dramaturgie: Igor Dobričić. Licht, Technik: Martin Kaffarnik. Produktion, Tourmanagement: Martha van Meegen. PR: NeverLike Daisy Benz. Management: NeverLike. Transistor: Jette Schneider & Judith Schoneveld. Koproduktion: Theater im Pumpenhaus, Forum Freies Theater, Zeebelt producties. Finanzielle Unterstützung Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst and Fonds Podiumkunsten Dank an Veem House for Performance and ICK Amsterdam


Die Tänzerin, Choreographin und Tanzlehrerin Keren Levi wurde in Israel geboren, wo sie auch ihre Ausbildung an der School of the Kibbutz Dance Company erhielt. Seit 1990 tanzt sie mit verschiedenen Kompanien und unabhängigen Choreographen wie der Kibbutz Dance Company, Batsheva, Philippe Blanchard, Joaquiem Sabate und Diane Eishout & Frank Handler. 1996 begann sie eigene Werke zu choreographieren. Seit 1997 unterrichtet sie Modernen Tanz, Komposition und Improvisation in verschiedenen Ländern Europas – so für die Henny Jurriens Foundation in Amsterdam, die Amsterdam Theatre School, die Rotterdam Dance Academy, für Impuls Tanz, Wien, SEAD, Charleroi/Danses und das tanzhaus nrw.