21:00 Uhr
21.06.2019
21:00 Uhr
20.06.2019

Happyology – Tears of Joy

as part of Impulse Theater Festival 2019
Dragana Bulut
Performance
tanzhaus nrw
Duration: ca. 75 min. / English with simultaneous translation into German (on 21.06. only)
15 € Vorverkauf / 18 € Abendkasse
8 € Vorverkauf / 10 € Abendkasse (erm.)

Ticket - buy now

full showcase program


Special on 21.06. after the performance:
Audience discussion in English and German with the artist and Bianca Liebrand, psychological counsellor for Sekten-Info Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V. Chaired by: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, dramaturg FFT Düsseldorf


In a high performance society it is not a private matter whether one faces the world optimistically or not. Because only people who are full of positive energy can deliver performance and free the solidary community from the task of cushioning potential failure. This social pressure has given rise to a hige array of workshops, training and coaching sessions that sell physical work and auto suggestion as the key to happiness. In the logic of these techniques a successful life is the direct result of invidual effort and is never the responsibility of others and certainly not that of the system as a whole.

 

Dragana Bulut and her two performers take to the stage as coaches and trainers and together with the audience try out various techniques to increase the well-being of both body and soul, for example the ‘power stand’: spend several minutes every day in a Superman pose, and see how it increases your self-confidence! A show about the ideology of self-improvement and how happiness has been instrumentalised.



Concept, artistic direction, choreography, performance: Dragana Bulut. By and with: Andrew Hardwidge, Kareth Schaffer (replaced in the performances for the Impulse Theater Festival by Dani Brown). Dramaturgy: Ana Vujanović. Lighting design: Joseph Wegmann. Sound design: Neda Sanai. Artistic assistance: Helen Schröder. Press and production: björn & björn. A Dragana Bulut production. Co-produced by the HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe. With support from PACT Zollverein Essen and Station Service for Contemporary Dance Belgrade.


Dragana Bulut graduated with an MA in Solo/Dance/Authorship at the Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum Tanz of the Universität der Künste Berlin. Since 2005 she has developed her own choreographic work, in which she questions different configurations of aesthetics, labour and economics through the staging of social choreographies. For her playful, yet critical pieces she won the Prix Jardin d’Europe 2010 European Prize for Young Choreographers. In 2013/15 she was Artist-in-Residence at Akademie Schloss Solitude.

21:00 Uhr
21.06.2019
21:00 Uhr
20.06.2019

Happyology – Tears of Joy

Im Rahmen des Impulse Theater Festival 2019
Dragana Bulut
Performance
tanzhaus nrw
Dauer: ca. 75 min. / Englisch mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung (nur am 20.06.)
15 € Vorverkauf / 18 € Abendkasse
8 € Vorverkauf / 10 € Abendkasse (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Das vollständige Programm des Impulse Theater Festival Showcase findest du hier.


Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung am 21.6. findet ein Publikumsgespräch in englischer und deutscher Sprache mit der Künstlerin und Bianca Liebrand, psychologische Beraterin bei Sekten-Info Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V. statt. Moderation: Katja Grawinkel-Claassen, Dramaturgin FFT Düsseldorf


In der Leistungsgesellschaft ist es keine Privatsache, ob man der Welt optimistisch gegenübertritt oder nicht. Denn nur wer voller positiver Energie ist, kann Leistung bringen und die Solidargemeinschaft von der Aufgabe befreien, ein mögliches Scheitern abzufedern. Aus diesem sozialen Zwang ist ein riesiges Angebot an Workshops, Trainings und Coachings entstanden, die Körperarbeit und Autosuggestion als Schlüssel zum Glück verkaufen. Ein gelingendes Leben ist in der Logik dieser Techniken das direkte Resultat individueller Anstrengung und liegt niemals in der Verantwortung anderer, schon gar nicht in der des Systems.

 

Dragana Bulut und ihre beiden Performer*innen treten als Coaches und Trainer*innen auf die Bühne und erproben mit dem Publikum verschiedene Techniken zur Steigerung des körperlichen wie seelischen Wohlbefindens, zum Beispiel den power stand: Stellen Sie sich täglich mehrere Minuten hin wie Superman, und schon steigt Ihr Selbstbewusstsein! Eine Show über die Ideologie der Selbstoptimierung und die Instrumentalisierung des Glücks.



Konzept, künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie, Performance: Dragana Bulut. Von und mit: Andrew Hardwidge, Kareth Schaffer (für die Aufführungen beim Impulse Theater Festival ersetzt durch Dani Brown). Dramaturgie: Ana Vujanović. Lichtdesign: Joseph Wegmann. Sounddesign: Neda Sanai. Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Helen Schröder. Presse und Produktion: björn & björn. Eine Produktion von Dragana Bulut. In Koproduktion mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Unterstützt durch PACT Zollverein Essen und Station Service for Contemporary Dance Belgrade.


Dragana Bulut studierte Solo/Dance/Authorship am Hochschulübergreifenden Zentrum Tanz Berlin der Universität der Künste Berlin. Seit 2005 entwickelt sie eigene choreografische Arbeiten, in denen sie durch die Aneignung gesellschaftlicher Choreografien verschiedene Konfigurationen von Ästhetik, Arbeit und Ökonomie hinterfragt. Für ihre spielerischen und gleichzeitig kritischen Arbeiten wurde sie mit dem Prix Jardin d’Europe 2010 European Prize for Young Choreographers ausgezeichnet. In der Generation 2013/15 war sie Stipendiatin der Akademie Schloss Solitude.