20:00 Uhr
28.11.2020
20:00 Uhr
27.11.2020

Learning feminism from Rwanda

Flinn Works
Performance
FFT Juta
Dauer: 75 min // Sprachen: Englisch mit deutschen und französichen Übertiteln
19€/11€ erm.

Rwanda has long since achieved what women in Europe are still struggling for: 61% of their members of parliament are female. The East African country has made gender equity the basis of its politics after the 1994 genocide. In Germany, however, parity is still far off, and while gender equalisation has been fixed in the constitution since 1949, only 31% of the Bundestag members are women.

 

On the stage, a Rwandan drum is the key to power. In bygone times, it was only played for the king. Now, the performers* play for the queen. For Merkel. For parity. With inflammatory speeches, statistics, dirges and protest choreographies, they perform for poor Europe that struggles for meagre quotas, while female Rwandan pilots fly blood bottles around the country by drone and digital data rushes to the smartphones of female delegates.

 

LEARNING FEMINISM FROM RWANDA views the women’s quota as a political instrument and the change in culture and mindset it brings about. Six performers follow the trail of Rwandan fast-track feminism through gleaming statistics and glass ceilings right to a glimpse behind the backdrops of home and stove. What lesson could Europe learn from Rwanda?

 

Due to the ongoing pandemic, two performers* will make their appearances live while three others will participate by video.

 


Flinn Works
Flinn Works (formerly Flinntheater) is an independent freelance theatre and performance group. Gathered around director Sophia Stepf while employing shifting, oftentimes internationally cast teams, Flinn Works develops multi-perspective theatre performances on topics within a globalised world. Flinn Works regularly cooperates with Sophiensæle Berlin. Among their additional partners are Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) and Staatstheater Kassel. In 2014, Flinn Works won the Support Award of the Zurich Cantonal Bank at the Zurich Theatre Spectacle for their production Shilpa – The Indian Singer App, and it was among the nominees for 2017’s George Tabori Award. With Global Belly, Flinn Works took part in the Impulse Theatre Festival 2018.
Credits
Artistic Direction: Lisa Stepf & Sophia Stepf. By and Featuring: Yvette Niyomufasha, Natacha Muziramakenga, Wesley Ruzibiza, Nirere Shanel, Lisa Stepf, Cornelia Dörr. Stage Direction: Sophia Stepf. Video Design: Marc Jungreithmeier. Composition: Andi Otto. Insertions: Sophia Inanga. Costume: Tatjana Kautsch & Ensemble. Lighting Design: Susana Alonso. Assistant Direction: Annekatrin Utke. Production Rwanda and Dramaturgy: Louise Mutabazi. Production Management & Company Management: Gustavo Fijalkow. A Flinn Works Production in cooperation with EANT Festival/Amizero Kompagnie. In coproduction with Theater Freiburg, Sophiensaele Berlin, Goethe Institute Kigali, Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne. In cooperation with Staatstheater Kassel, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau, FFT Düsseldorf. Supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and European Affairs, the Cultural Department of the City of Kassel, Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung, Between Bridges. Supported as part of the Alliance of International Production Venues with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

20:00 Uhr
28.11.2020
20:00 Uhr
27.11.2020

Learning feminism from Rwanda

Flinn Works
Performance
FFT Juta
Dauer: 75 min // Sprachen: Englisch mit deutschen und französichen Übertiteln
19€/11€ erm.

Ruanda hat längst erreicht, wofür Frauen in Europa noch kämpfen: 61% der Abgeordneten im Parlament sind weiblich. Das ostafrikanische Land hat nach dem Genozid 1994 die Geschlechtergerechtigkeit zur Basis seiner Politik gemacht. In Deutschland hingegen ist die Parität noch fern und obwohl die Gleichstellung seit 1949 im Grundgesetz verankert ist, sind nur 31% der Bundestagsabgeordneten Frauen.

 

Eine ruandische Trommel auf der Bühne ist der Schlüssel zur Macht. Früher wurde sie nur für den König gespielt. Jetzt spielen die Performer*innen für die Königin. Für Merkel. Für Parität. Mit flammenden Reden, Statistiken, Klageliedern und Protestchoreografien performen sie für das arme Europa, das um magere Quoten ringt, während ruandische Pilotinnen Blutkonserven mit Drohnen durchs Land fliegen und digitale Daten zu den Smartphones weiblicher Abgeordneter rasen.

 

Learning feminism from Rwanda beobachtet die Frauenquote als politisches Instrument und die Veränderung der Kultur und Geisteshaltung dadurch. Sechs Performer*innen folgen der Spur des ruandischen Fast-Track-Feminismus durch glänzende Statistiken und gläserne Decken bis hinter die Kulissen zu Heim und Herd. Was kann Europa von Ruanda lernen?

 

Pandemiebedingt treten zwei Performer*innen live und drei per Video auf.

 


Flinn Works
Flinn Works (ehemals Flinntheater) ist eine freie Theater- und Performancegruppe. In wechselnden, oft international besetzten Teams um die Regisseurin Sophia Stepf entwickelt Flinn Works multiperspektivische Theateraufführungen zu Themen der globalisierten Welt. Flinn Works kooperiert regelmäßig mit den Sophiensælen Berlin. Weitere Partner sind u. a. das Hebbel am Ufer (HAU) und das Staatstheater Kassel. 2014 wurde Flinn Works für die Produktion Shilpa – The Indian Singer App mit dem Förderpreis der Zürcher Kantonalbank beim Zürcher Theater Spektakel ausgezeichnet und war 2017 für den George-Tabori-Preis (Hauptpreis) nominiert. Mit Global Belly nahm Flinn Works am Impulse-Theaterfestival 2018 teil.
Credits
Künstlerische Leitung: Lisa Stepf & Sophia Stepf. Von und mit: Yvette Niyomufasha, Natacha Muziramakenga, Wesley Ruzibiza, Nirere Shanel, Lisa Stepf, Cornelia Dörr. Regie: Sophia Stepf. Videodesign: Marc Jungreithmeier. Komposition: Andi Otto. Einspielungen: Sophia Inanga. Kostüm: Tatjana Kautsch & Ensemble. Lichtdesign: Susana Alonso. Regieassistenz: Annekatrin Utke. Produktion Ruanda und Dramaturgie: Louise Mutabazi. Produktionsleitung & Kompaniemanagement: Gustavo Fijalkow. Eine Produktion von Flinn Works in Kooperation mit EANT Festival/Amizero Kompagnie. In Koproduktion mit Theater Freiburg, Sophiensaele Berlin, Goethe-Institut Kigali, Kaserne Basel, HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste, Maillon Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne. In Kooperation mit Staatstheater Kassel, Theater Tuchlaube Aarau, FFT Düsseldorf. Gefördert durch Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Kulturamt der Stadt Kassel, Gerhard-Fieseler-Stiftung, Between Bridges. Gefördert im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.