19:00 Uhr
04.04.2020

Letters, Voices, Dance & Music

Part of Nippon Performance Nights Vol. 7 and the Nacht der Museen (Night of the Museums) programme 2020
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi, miu
Performance & Konzert
FFT Kammerspiele
Tickets gibt es über die Vorverkaufsstellen der Nacht der Museen und an der Abendkasse.

Ticket - buy now

Composer and performer Tomomi Adachi creates sounds in space in his works, using self-constructed instruments as well as his own movements. For the Nippon Performance Nights Vol. 7 during the Nacht der Museen 2020, he and choreographer and dancer Natsuko Tezuka explore the potential of making bodies, voices, sound and space vibrate together in unison. In their performance “Ursonate”, they translate Kurt Schwitters’ familiar sound poem into sign language and into Japanese, thereby demonstrating the absurdity of linguistic systems. Natsuko Tezuka’s “Anatomical experiment -3 request version” turns the audience into choreographers* of a performance on presence and effect, while “Instruction Language Body” focusses on the communication between voice and body. A concert by Düsseldorf-based composer and conceptual artist miu will conclude the evening.


Program 

7 pm 
Video projections from and with Natsuko Tezuka and Tomomi Adachi (Dauer-Installation)
 
8 pm
„Ursonate (the third movement) by Kurt Schwitters with signed language and Japanese translations”
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi
 
8:30 pm
„Anatomical Experiment-3 request version“
Natsuko Tezuka
 
9:15 pm
„Instructions, Language and Body”
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi
 
10:30 + 11 pm
concert
miu


Tomomi Adachi

Tomomi Adachi is a composer, sound poet, installation artist and theatre director. He studied philosophy and aesthetics at Tokyo’s Waseda University. He plays improvised music with voice, live electronics and self-made instruments. He performed Kurt Schwitters’ “Ursonate” for the first time in Japan. Additionally, Tomomi Adachi wrote about visual arts, music, and performance art as a newspaper and magazine critic. He arrived at visual arts (video and installation) in 2003. Between 2009 and 2011, he stayed in New York as an Asian Cultural Council awardee. Furthermore, he received an invitation by the DAAD to come to Berlin as a composer in 2012. At the time of this writing, he lives and works in Berlin and Tokyo. adachitomomi.com

Natsuko Tezuka

Natsuko Tezuka is a dancer and choreographer. Her style is marked by a trial and error approach and is not based on any preexisting technique. She started her “Anatomical Experiments” series, in which she explores her own body, in 2001. In the same year, she became a finalist for the Toyota Choreography Award with “Anatomic Experiment-2”, going on to tour New York, Berlin, Jakarta and Rio de Janeiro, where she interacted with local artists*. In 2010, she started the Asia Interactive Research project while also starting an enquiry club for “people’s performances” with ST Spot in Yokohama. Together with Venuri Perera (Sri Lanka) and Yeong Ran Suh (South Korea), she founded the Floating Bottle company to examine what Westernisation means for Asia. She added Berlin as a further base for her activities in 2018.

miu
Conceptual artist miu was born in Shimane, Japan, in 1976. He studied sonology and electronic music at the Kunitachi College of Music (Tokyo, Japan) as well as at the Koninklijk Conservatorium (Den Haag, The Netherlands). He has been living in Europe since 1998, actively freelancing as an artist since 2001. He realised numerous performances, concerts and exhibitions both nationally and abroad, all of them marked by his intercultural experiences. miu lives and works in Düsseldorf. milch-labor.com

photo: Jürgen Morgenrot

19:00 Uhr
04.04.2020

Letters, Voices, Dance & Music (entfällt)

Im Rahmen der Nippon Performance Nights Vol. 7 und der Nacht der Museen 2020
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi, miu
Performance & Konzert
FFT Kammerspiele
Tickets gibt es über die Vorverkaufsstellen der Nacht der Museen und an der Abendkasse.

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Der Komponist und Performer Tomomi Adachi erzeugt in seinen Arbeiten mittels selbstgebauter Instrumente und eigener Bewegungen Sounds im Raum. Für die Nippon Performance Nights Vol. 7 im Rahmen der Nacht der Museen 2020 erforscht er mit der Choreografin und Tänzerin Natsuko Tezuka die Möglichkeiten, Körper, Stimme, Klang und Raum miteinander in Schwingung zu bringen. In ihrer Performance „Ursonate“ übersetzen sie das bekannte Lautgedicht von Kurt Schwitters in Gebärdensprache und ins Japanische und demonstrieren die Absurdität sprachlicher Systeme. „Anatomical experiment-3 request version” von Natsuko Tezuka macht das Publikum zu Choreograf*innen einer Performance über Präsenz und Wirkung, während „Instruction Language Body“ die Kommunikation zwischen Stimme und Körper in den Blick nimmt. Zum Abschluss gibt es ein Konzert des in Düsseldorf ansässigen Komponisten und Konzeptkünstlers miu.


Programm 

19 Uhr 
Video-Arbeiten von und mit Natsuko Tezuka und Tomomi Adachi (Dauer-Installation)
 
20 Uhr
„Ursonate (the third movement) by Kurt Schwitters with signed language and Japanese translations”
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi
 
20.30 Uhr
„Anatomical Experiment-3 request version“
Natsuko Tezuka
 
21.15 Uhr
„Instructions, Language and Body”
Natsuko Tezuka, Tomomi Adachi
 
22.15 + 23 Uhr
Konzert
miu


Tomomi Adachi
Tomomi Adachi ist Performer, Komponist, Klangpoet, Installationskünstler und Theaterregisseur. Er studierte Philosophie und Ästhetik an der Waseda-Universität in Tokio. Er spielt improvisierte Musik mit Stimme, Live-Elektronik und selbstgebauten Instrumenten. Er hat Kurt Schwitters‘ „Ursonate“ zum ersten Mal in Japan aufgeführt. Tomomi Adachi hat außerdem als Kritiker über visuelle Kunst, Musik und Performance-Kunst für Zeitungen und Zeitschriften geschrieben. 2003 kam er zur bildenden Kunst (Video und Installation). Von 2009 bis 2010 hielt er sich als Stipendiat des Asiatischen Kulturrats in New York auf. Außerdem wurde er 2012 als Komponist vom DAAD nach Berlin eingeladen. Zur Zeit lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin und Tokio. adachitomomi.com
Natsuko Tezuka
Natsuko Tezuka ist Tänzerin und Choreografin. Ihr Stil ist geprägt von Versuch und Irrtum und basiert nicht auf bereits existierenden Techniken. Im Jahr 2001 begann sie ihre Serie „Anatomische Experimente“, in der sie ihren eigenen Körper untersucht. Im selben Jahr war sie mit „Anatomic Experiment-2“ Finalistin für den Toyota Choreography Award, danach tourte sie nach New York, Berlin, Jakarta und Rio de Janeiro, wo sie mit lokalen Künstler*innen interagierte. 2010 startete sie das Projekt Asia Interactive Research und startete mit ST Spot in Yokohama einen Umfrageclub für „Volksaufführungen“. Zusammen mit Venuri Perera (Sri Lanka) und Yeong Ran Suh (Südkorea) gründete sie die Gruppe Floating Bottle, die untersucht, was die Verwestlichung für Asien bedeutet. Seit 2018 hat sie Berlin als weitere Basis für ihre Aktivitäten hinzugefügt.
miu
Der Konzeptkünstler miu wurde 1976 in Shimane, Japan geboren. Er studierte Sonologie und elektronische Musik am Kunitachi College of Music (Tokio, Japan) und am Koninklijk Conservatorium (Den Haag, Niederlande). Seit 1998 lebt er in Europa und ist seit 2001 als freischaffender Künstler tätig. Er verwirklichte zahlreiche Performances, Konzerte und Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland, die durch seine interkulturellen Erfahrungen geprägt sind. miu lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf. milch-labor.com

Foto: Jürgen Morgenrot