20:00 Uhr
06.12.2019
20:00 Uhr
07.12.2019

no apocalypse not now

Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends
Performance
FFT Kammerspiele
without language / Duration: 90 min
19€/11€ (erm.)

Ticket - buy now

After the performance on 6 dec there will be a discussion with the audience.


A trip into the heart of darkness: On the site of a tropical manor, reminiscent of Francis Ford Coppola’s 1979 film “Apocalypse Now” setting, the audience dives into a world of latter-day cults and conspiracy theories. Dark visions of a future of desolation, repentance and resurrection narrate much about the ongoing crisis of Western humanism. Ashbel and friends illuminate the decline of this universalism, reacting to it in their performance with a longing for second chances and constant new beginnings.

 

Israeli director Ariel Efraim Ashbel conceives performances as utopias, in collaboration with a group of international artists. In their works, they combine Afro-futuristic elements with queer travesty, opera singing and rock show, highly musically, eclectic and inspired by digital technology.


Ariel Efraim Ashbel (born in Tel Aviv in 1982) is a Berlin-based artist and creator of performances. He develops aesthetic stage pieces that join a broad spectrum of historical, political, theoretical and pop-cultural references. He works with friends from all over the world with whom he gathers, by means of composition and sampling, their knowledge from theatre, visual arts, dance, music and installation in creative and scientific processes of interdisciplinary structural creation. He graduated from the School of Visual Theater in Jerusalem, studied philosophy at Tel Aviv University and collaborated in projects in several places and contexts, among them HZT Berlin, Berlin Biennale, Pornfilmfest, transmediale, HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

 

READING TIP

Ariel Efraim Ashbel wrote in the Collective Chronical about his work at the theatre, his life in Berlin as a migrant, his family in Tel Aviv, Alt-right, Fakenews and other media events.


Direction: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Conception: Romm Lewkowicz. With: Jessica Gadani, Saga Sigurðardóttir, Sarah Thom, Tatiana Saphir. Music: Hacklander/Hatam. Featuring: Daphna Keenan. Stage: Eli Petel. Costume Design: Sandra Fink. Lighting: Joseph Wegmann. Dramaturgy: Petra Poelzl. Assistant Director: Katharina Joy Book. Assistant Stage Designer: Klara Mand. Press: Wayra Schuebel. Production Management: björn & björn. Production: Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends. Copoduction: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, steirischer herbst (Graz), FFT Düsseldorf, Kampnagel Hamburg. Supported by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds/ Berlin Capital City Cultural Fund. Part of the international performance series Eve of Destruction, supported by the Kunststiftung NRW. Supported by NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ Gastspielförderung Theater, funded from Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien and Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder.

    


Internationale Performance-Reihe

20:00 Uhr
06.12.2019
20:00 Uhr
07.12.2019

no apocalypse not now

Im Rahmen der internationalen Performance-Reihe „Eve of Destruction“
Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends
Performance
FFT Kammerspiele
Sprache: ohne Sprache / Dauer: 90 Minuten
19€/11€ (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Nach der Vorstellung am 6.12. gibt es ein Publikumsgespräch.


Ein Trip ins Herz der Finsternis: Am Schauplatz eines tropischen Herrenhauses, das an Francis Ford Coppolas Film „Apocalypse Now“ (1979) erinnert, taucht das Publikum in eine Welt der Endzeitkulte und Verschwörungstheorien ein. Düstere Zukunftsszenarien von Verwüstung, Sühne und Wiederauferstehung verraten viel über die anhaltende Krise des westlichen Humanismus. Ashbel and friends erhellen den Niedergang dieses Universalismus und reagieren darauf in ihrer Performance no apocalypse not now in der Reihe Eve of Destruction mit der Sehnsucht nach zweiten Chancen und immer neuen Anfängen.

 

Der israelische Regisseur Ariel Efraim Ashbel erarbeitet mit einer Gruppe internationaler Künstler*innen Performances als Utopien. Dabei mischen sie afrofuturistische Elemente mit queerer Travestie, Operngesang und Rock-Show hochmusikalisch, eklektizistisch und von digitaler Technologie inspiriert.


Bildgewaltig und dennoch subtil absurd schafft sein Team durch Licht, Rauch und manchmal nur ein besonders seltsames Element eine neue Welt am Abgrund. Doch Ashbels Geheimrezept sind die vier grandiosen Performer*innen Jessica Gadani, Cassie Augusta Jørgensen, Sarah Thom und Tatiana Saphir. Jede von ihnen bringt solch eine besondere Kraft auf die Bühne, die den Licht und Szenenbildern erst ihre eigenen Geschichten verleihen.

 

 iheartberlin

We can't wait until Ariel Efraim Ashbel & friends finally get to celebrate the premiere* of "no apocalypse not now" at Orpheum Graz next Saturday (28.9.). During their rehearsals in Berlin, they created this trailer 👇 which gives a little glimpse of what you can expect! Video: Ariel Efraim Ashbel Vimeo#steirischerherbst #noapocalypse #steirischerherbst19 #GHA #GrandHotelAbyss #GrandHotelAbgrund* A co-production with steirischer herbst ’19, FFT Düsseldorf, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Kampnagel – Internationales Zentrum für schönere Künste. Supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Gepostet von steirischer herbst am Donnerstag, 26. September 2019


Ariel Efraim Ashbel (1982, Tel Aviv) ist ein in Berlin lebender Künstler und Performance-Macher. Er entwickelt ästhetische Inszenierungen, die ein breites Spektrum an historischen, politischen, theoretischen und popkulturellen Bezügen zusammenführen. Er arbeitet gemeinsam mit Freund*innen aus aller Welt, mit denen er durch Komposition und Sampling deren Wissen aus Theater, Bildender Kunst, Tanz, Musik und Installation in kreativen und wissenschaftlichen Prozessen interdisziplinärer Strukturbildung zusammenführt. Er ist Absolvent der School of Visual Theater Jerusalem, hat Philosophie an der Universität Tel Aviv studiert und an Projekten in verschiedenen Orten und Kontexten mitgewirkt, darunter HZT Berlin, die Berlin Biennale, Pornfilmfest, transmediale, HAU Hebbel am Ufer.


Regie: Ariel Efraim Ashbel. Konzeption: Romm Lewkowicz. Mit: Jessica Gadani, Saga Sigurðardóttir, Sarah Thom, Tatiana Saphir. Musik: Hacklander/Hatam. Featuring: Daphna Keenan. Bühne: Eli Petel. Kostümdesign: Sandra Fink. Licht: Joseph Wegmann. Dramaturgie: Petra Poelzl. Regieassistenz: Katharina Joy Book. Bühnenbildassistenz: Klara Mand. Presse: Wayra Schuebel. Produktions-Management: björn & björn. Produktion: Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends. Kopoduktion: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, steirischer herbst (Graz), FFT Düsseldorf, Kampnagel Hamburg. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Im Rahmen der internationalen Performance-Reihe „Eve of Destruction” gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW. Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ Gastspielförderung Theater, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, sowie den Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder.

    


Internationale Performance-Reihe