14:00 Uhr
10.11.2018

Regierungstechniken und Theater (Techniques of Government and Theater)

Evelyn Annuß in conversation with Sebastian Kirsch and Kathrin Tiedemann
As part of the 14th Conference of the Society for Theater Studies “Theater and Technology”
Talk
Polnisches Institut, Citadellstraße 7, 40213 Düsseldorf

Dr. Evelyn Annuß presents her book “Volksschule des Theaters – Nationalsozialistische Massenspiele” (Wilhelm Fink Verlag, 2018) in conversation with theater scholar Dr. Sebastian Kirsch.

 

Populist mass games were developed after the Nazi’s rise to power as a people’s school of theater. These modern choreographies were meant to evoke, form and steer collective desires. In the process, their aesthetic fundamentally transformed from choric theater, based on liturgy and collective performance, to spectacular events.

 

Evelyn Annuß examines the governmental dimension of NS-mass theater, analyzes shifts in the contemporaneous media dispositive, international as well as domestic competition and the contradictory relationship between propaganda and artistic avant-garde.

 

Evelyn Annuß is a scholar of literature and theater and currently guest professor at the Free University Berlin’s Institute for Theater Studies. Her research focuses e.g. on “Performances in Ethnic Drag”. Habilitation in Bochum on NS-mass games and doctorate from Erfurt on Elfriede Jelinek. Her main areas of interest are e.g. popular and Global Performance Cultures, theater and media history, staged politics and the aesthetic history of non-protagonist forms of representation. In addition, she has worked as a curator (Stagings Made in Namibia, e.g. National Art Gallery of Namibia/Berlin Bethanien, Palais des Nation, Geneva). In 2017, she co-initiated the petition “Renegotiate the Future of the Volksbühne”.

15:30 Uhr
10.11.2018

Regierungstechniken und Theater

Evelyn Annuß im Gespräch mit Sebastian Kirsch und Kathrin Tiedemann
Im Rahmen des 14. Kongresses der Gesellschaft für Theaterwissenschaft „Theater und Technik“
Gespräch
Polnisches Institut, Citadellstraße 7, 40213 Düsseldorf

Im Gespräch mit dem Theaterwissenschaftler Dr. Sebastian Kirsch stellt Dr. Evelyn Annuß ihr Buch „Volksschule des Theaters – Nationalsozialistische Massenspiele“ (Wilhelm Fink Verlag, 2018) vor.

 

Als Volksschule des Theaters werden populistische Massenspiele nach der Machtübernahme entwickelt. Modern choreographiert, sollen sie das kollektive Bedürfnis hervorrufen, formiert und geführt zu werden. Dabei allerdings wandelt sich ihre Ästhetik grundlegend von einem chorischen Theater, das von der Liturgie und vom kollektiven Auftreten her gedacht wird, zum spektakulären Event.

 

Evelyn Annuß untersucht die gouvernementale Dimension des NS-Massentheaters, analysiert zeitgenössische mediale Dispositivwechsel, internationale wie innenpolitische Konkurrenzen und die widersprüchliche Relation zwischen Propaganda und künstlerischer Avantgarde.

 

Der Eintritt ist frei! Wir bitten um Anmeldung unter tickets@fft-duesseldorf.de

 

Evelyn Annuß ist Literatur- und Theaterwissenschaftlerin und zurzeit Gastprofessorin am Institut für Theaterwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie forscht unter anderem über „Performances in Ethnic Drag“. Habilitation in Bochum über NS-Massenspiele und Promotion in Erfurt über Elfriede Jelinek. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind u. a. Global Performance Cultures und populäre Kulturen, Theater- und Mediengeschichte, politische Inszenierungen und die Ästhetikgeschichte nichtprotagonistischer Darstellungsweisen. Darüber hinaus hat sie als Kuratorin gearbeitet (Stagings Made in Namibia, u. a. National Art Gallery of Namibia/Berlin Bethanien, Palais des Nations, Genf). Sie hat 2017 die Petition „Zukunft der Volksbühne neu verhandeln“ mitinitiiert.