19:00 Uhr
20.12.2018

Roy Black Power.

Performance and Politics in the Bonn Republic
Lecture by Verena Meis
Vortrag
FFT Juta
Eintritt frei

The “Bonn Republic” has gone down in local and national political memory as a period of reconstruction and growing prosperity. Yet does this overall perspective on this past era hold up to critical inspection? What insights can by gained for the future from the positions in Bonn that caused a stir from 1949-1990 and are still with us today?

 

Over the last two years, a research group at the Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf has worked with the local affiliated institute “Modernity in the Rhineland“ on this topic and every winter semester, they integrated their new research perspectives into a lecture series, which seeks out dialogue with the public at different venues across the city of Düsseldorf. During the 2018/19 winter semester, our lecture series “The Bonn Republic. Research – Discourse – The Public Sphere” is dedicated to the 1970’s-1980’s. Researchers from German studies, art history, cultural and social studies as well as Romance studies speak on select topics.

 

Aside from the City of Düsseldorf, cooperation partners are the venues: FFT Düsseldorf, Goethe Museum Düsseldorf/Anton-und-Katharina-Kippenberg-Stiftung, Heinrich-Heine-Institute, NRW-Forum, Düsseldorf Municipal Archive, Düsseldorf Central Library, University and State Library

 

Verena Meis, born 1982 in Mönchengladbach, lives and works in Düsseldorf and has a doctorate in literature and theater. Her main areas of research are contemporary literature and theater, performance, pop culture and human-animal relations. As co-founder of the Qualleninstitut (Jellyfish Institute), she explores the diaphanous creature as a figure of media, aesethic and ecological thought. Verena Meis is initiator of various projects at the interface of science, cultural education and artistic practice. She is a member of the City fo Düsseldorf’s Advisory Council Dance Theater and currently a member of the board of trustees for the NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste. In 2017, she was a director’s intern for René Pollesch and Jan Phillip Gloger. She is moreover deputy chairwoman of the FFT Düsseldorf, member of the advisory board of the Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen and from the 2018/2019 season on, head of the young association Friends of the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus.

19:00 Uhr
20.12.2018

Roy Black Power.

Performance und Politik in der Bonner Republik
Vortrag von Verena Meis
Vortrag
FFT Juta
Eintritt frei

Die „Bonner Republik“ ist als eine Zeit des Wiederaufbaus und beginnender Prosperität in das regionale und das politisch nationale Gedächtnis eingegangen. Doch hält diese Gesamtperspektive auf den abgeschlossenen Zeitraum einer kritischen Betrachtung stand? Welche Erkenntnisse lassen sich für die Zukunft aus den Positionen gewinnen, die von Bonn aus 1949-1990 für Furore gesorgt haben und heute Teil unserer Gegenwart sind?

 

Seit zwei Jahren arbeitet ein Forschergruppe der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf mit dem dortigen An-Institut „Moderne im Rheinland“ zum Thema und bindet jeweils im Wintersemester die Forschungsperspektiven in eine Ringvorlesung ein, die, an verschiedenen Orten in der Stadt Düsseldorf, den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit sucht. Im Wintersemester 2018/19 widmet sich unsere Ringvorlesung „Die Bonner Republik. Forschung – Diskurs – Öffentlichkeit“ den 1970er-1980er Jahren. Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der Germanistik, Kunstgeschichte, den Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie der Romanistik referieren zu ausgesuchten Themen.

 

Kooperationspartner sind neben der Stadt Düsseldorf die Veranstaltungsorte: FFT Düsseldorf, Goethe Museum Düsseldorf/Anton-und-Katharina-Kippenberg-Stiftung, Heinrich-Heine-Institut, NRW-Forum, Stadtarchiv Düsseldorf, Zentralbibliothek Düsseldorf, Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek

 

Verena Meis, 1982 in Mönchengladbach geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf und ist promovierte Literatur- und Theaterwissenschaftlerin. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Gegenwartsliteratur und -theater, Performance, Popkultur und Mensch-Tier-Relationen. Als Mitbegründerin des Qualleninstituts erforscht sie das diaphane Wesen als mediale, ästhetische und ökologische Denkfigur. Verena Meis initiiert verschiedene Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, kultureller Bildung und künstlerischer Praxis. Sie ist Mitglied im Beirat Tanz Theater der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf und derzeit Kuratoriumsmitglied des NRW Landesbüros Freie Darstellende Künste. 2017 absolvierte sie Regiehospitanzen bei René Pollesch und Jan Phillip Gloger. Sie ist außerdem stellvertretende Vorsitzende des FFT Düsseldorf, Mitglied des Beirats des Kunstvereins für die Rheinlande und Westfalen und leitet ab der Spielzeit 2018/19 den jungen Freundeskreis des Düsseldorfer Schauspielhauses. Im November 2018 wird sie im Rahmen von LIFFT (Literatur im FFT) //: hyperdrama ihr erstes Stück inszenieren.