20:00 Uhr
21.09.2018
20:00 Uhr
22.09.2018

Save the Last Trance for Me

or: How My Aunt’s Tremor Saves Our Inner Cities
matthaei & konsorten
Konzertperformance
FFT Juta
19 € / 11 € (erm.)

Ticket - buy now

There will be an introduction on September 21 at 7.30 pm with Prof. Martin Zillinger and an after show talk with Prof. Zillinger and Mohamed Amjahid.

 

After “Songbook Oberbilk”, a series of audio portraits for the public realm and smartphone, matthaei & konsorten followed the path of Moroccan migration through further European cities. On the trail of trance ritual, they find stories of personal success and social slander, Western yearning and Moroccan transformation. Finally in Morocco itself, old healing rites and African music traditions meet on the fast-paced market of world music. In an evening with performers from Casablanca and Brussels, that is simultaneously concert and lecture-performance, Matthaei draws the audience into a strange story of globetrotters and people possessed, of old wars and healing states of ecstasy.

Set Design: Dorothea Ronneburg. Music & Audio Design: Abdellah M. Hassak. Interactive Video Design: Yacine Sebti. Outside Eye: Nicolas Galeazzi. Translations & Research Collaborator: Saida Rochdanie. Staging & Performance: Jörg Lukas Matthaei. Funded by the Alliance of International Production Houses. Partner: Eine Welt Forum Düsseldorf

 

 

Lukas Matthaei works since 2000 under the label matthaei & konsorten with artists of different disciplines on projects that range from pieces for the stage, installations and discursive productions to the development of new formats for urban landscapes, which have been his main focus over the last years. The projects are based on extensive research in specific communities & diverse realities, which produce the politics of the works: who becomes visible, whose language and actions shape the production that the recipients find themselves involved in? 

Abdellah M. Hassak is a sound artist and music producer from Casablanca. Thematically, he situates his work between digital technology, data processing and interactive design. He mainly draws his inspiration from the soundscapes of different places and cities and their chaos. So far his works have been shown in several exhibitions and at festivals, such as the Downtown Contemporary Arts Festival, Cairo, the 5th Edition of the Marrakesh Biennale, the Montalvo Arts Festival in Canada, the Supercopy Festival in Mannheim, Port25, Raum für Gegenwartskunst in Mannheim, at the Saout Radio and SAVVY Funk Berlin. https://hassak.net

20:00 Uhr
21.09.2018
20:00 Uhr
22.09.2018

Save the last Trance for me

oder: Wie der Tremor meiner Tante unsere Innenstädte retten wird
matthaei & konsorten
Konzertperformance
FFT Juta
19 € / 11 € (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Nach „Songbook Oberbilk“, einer Serie von Audioporträts für den öffentlichen Raum und für das Smartphone, sind matthaei & konsorten der marokkanischen Migration durch weitere europäische Städte gefolgt. Auf der Spur von Trance-Ritualen finden sie Geschichten von persönlichen Erfolgen und gesellschaftlichen Kränkungen, westlichen Sehnsüchten und marokkanischen Verwandlungen. Bis schließlich in Marokko selbst alte Heilungsriten und afrikanische Musiktraditionen auf den schnellen Markt der Weltmusik treffen. In einem Abend mit Performern aus Casablanca und Brüssel, der gleichzeitig Konzert und Lecture-Performance ist, zieht Matthaei das Publikum hinein in eine schräge Erzählung von Besessenen und Weltreisenden, alten Kriegen und heilsamen Rauschzuständen.

 

Bühnenbild: Dorothea Ronneburg. Musik & Audiodesign: Abdellah M. Hassak. Interaktives Videodesign: Yacine Sebti. Outside Eye: Nicolas Galeazzi. Übersetzungen & Mitarbeit Recherchen: Saida Rochdanie. Inszenierung & Performance: Jörg Lukas Matthaei. Geördert durch das Bündnis internationaler Produktionshäuser.

 

Lukas Matthaei erarbeitet unter dem Label matthaei & konsorten seit 2000 mit Künstler*innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen Projekte, die sich von Inszenierungen für die Bühne, über Installationen und Diskursproduktionen bis hin zur Entwicklung neuer Formate für urbane Landschaften bewegen, welche seit einigen Jahren den Schwerpunkt ausmachen. Die Projekte basieren auf ausführlichen Recherchen in spezifischen Communities & diversen Realitäten, woraus die Politik der Arbeiten hervorgeht: Wer wird sichtbar, wessen Sprache und Handlungen prägen die Inszenierung, in die sich die Rezipient*innen involviert finden?

 

Abdellah M. Hassak ist ein Tonkünstler und Musikproduzent aus Casablanca. Thematisch verortet er seine Arbeit zwischen digitaler Technologie, Datenverarbeitung und interaktivem Design. Dabei lässt er sich vor allem von den Klanglandschaften verschiedener Orte und Städte und deren Chaos inspirieren. Bisher wurden seine Arbeiten auf mehreren Ausstellungen und auf Festivals wir den Downtown Contemporary Arts Festival, Kairo, der 5. Edition der Marrakesch Biennale, dem Montalvo Arts Festival in Kanada, dem Supercopy Festival in Mannheim, Port25, Raum für Gegenwartskunst in Mannheim, bei dem Saout Radio und SAVVY Funk Berlin gezeigt. https://hassak.net