19:30 Uhr
11.01.2020

Still Standing

as part of west off
Locu&Ruth
Performance
FFT Juta
Language: German
16€/10€ (erm.)

Ticket - buy now

Here you can find the complete west off programm (9. – 11. jan 2020).


Locu&Ruth just stand around. For a long time. In different spots. Motionless. They occupy a small piece of earth with their feet, just letting things happen. A void opens up. A potential of infinite possibilities for action emerges. Locu&Ruth document their locations systematically, with a film camera. Permanently and on short notice. Local residents combine into a scene of uncertain outcome. Delicate or brute.

 

Still Standing means topically taking stock, between everyday life and large events, absurdity and seriousness, projection and live performance, devotion and destruction, narration and repetition, standstill and action. Here and now. For “west off” 2019, the artistic duo translates their filmed archive into a stage format with intense effect. The standing on film, the standing on stage focusses the gaze on the smallest differences, on barely perceptible impulse and perspective change with surprise. The “taking a stand for something”, the “having a standpoint”, the “having both feet firmly on the ground”, they all become an insistent appeal to look more closely.


The passion for excessively standing around brought Locu&Ruth together, and since June 2018, it also forms the centre of their first joint effort.

 

Marlene Ruther holds a degree in political sciences as well as in theatre studies while also currently studying scenic research in Bochum. She is interested in the intersection of ecology and art; mainly researching, rehearsing and staging outdoors. As a human who is fond of movement, she works as a performer for a host of different artists.

 

Locuratolo studies liberal arts. She positions herself as a filmic painter and sculpture in life’s space. In her works, she broaches the issues of awareness and body, movement and standstill, transformation and life – in harmony with nature. She completed her B.A. in a social works study course with an emphasis on international policy, and her M.A. in development management in Cape Town, Ecuador, Argentina, Israel, Russia and elsewhere. She was taught at Freiburg’s dance school for improvisation and performance.

 

Michael Maurissens (Mentoring) was born in Brussels, where he also started his dance training. He went on to study dance at the Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung in Munich from 1991 until 1992 and at the Swiss Ballettberufsschule in Zurich from 1992 until 1993, with aid provided by the Pierino Ambrosoli Foundation, going on to work at engagements with Nuremberg Ballet/ Tanzwerk Nürnberg, Ballett Freiburg, pretty ugly, Nationaltheater Mannheim and Pretty Ugly Tanz Köln in Cologne. He worked with Amanda Miller, William Forsythe, Katy Duck, Hideto Heshiki, Martin Sonderkamp, Dominique Dumais, Georg Reischl, and others. He founded MichaelDouglas Kellektiv with his colleague Douglas Bateman in 2009, centred around a core of five performers who consistently form new connections for different activities – with familiar and yet-to-be discovered dancers, choreographers, musicians and a wide-ranging, collaborative system of institutional partners.


With: Marlene Ruther and Locuratolo. Mentor: Michael Maurissens. Photo: Locu&Ruth. A co-production by Locu&Ruth with theaterimballsaal Bonn as a commission for “west off 2019 – Theaternetzwerk Rheinland“. Supported by the Cultural Offices of the Cities of Bonn, Düsseldorf and Cologne as well as by the Ministry for Culture and Sciences of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

19:30 Uhr
11.01.2020

Still Standing

Im Rahmen von west off
Locu&Ruth
Performance
FFT Juta
Sprache: deutsch
16€/10€ (erm.)

Ticket jetzt kaufen

Das komplette west off-Programm (9. – 11.1.2020) kann hier nachgelesen werden. Mehr über west off gibt es hier im WDR 3.


Locu&Ruth stehen einfach rum. Für lange Zeit. An unterschiedlichen Orten. Regungslos. Sie okkupieren mit beiden Füßen ein Stückchen Erde und lassen geschehen. Eine Leere öffnet sich. Ein Potential unendlicher Handlungsmöglichkeiten entsteht. Mit einer Filmkamera dokumentieren Locu&Ruth ihre Standorte systematisch. Permanent und kurzfristig. Ortsansässige fügen sich zu einer Szene mit ungewissem Ausgang zusammen. Feinfühlig oder brachial.

 

Still Standing ist eine aktuelle Bestandsaufnahme zwischen Alltäglichkeit und Großereignissen, Absurdität und Ernsthaftigkeit, Projektion und Live-Performance, Hingabe und Zerstörung, Erzählung und Wiederholung, Stillstand und Action. Hier und Jetzt. Für „west off 2019“ überführt das Künstlerinnen-Duo das filmische Archiv in ein Bühnen-Format mit intensiver Wirkung. Das Stehen im Film, das Stehen auf der Bühne fokussiert den Blick auf kleinste Unterschiede, kaum wahrnehmbare Regungen und Perspektiv-Wechsel mit Überraschungen. Das „für etwas Einstehen“, „einen Standpunkt haben“ oder „mit beiden Beiden auf dem Boden stehen“ wird zum eindringlichen Appell, genau hinzuschauen.


Die Leidenschaft für exzessives Rumstehen hat Locu&Ruth zusammengeführt und bildet seit Juni 2018 den Mittelpunkt ihrer ersten gemeinsamen Arbeit.

 

Marlene Ruther hat einen Abschluss in Politikwissenschaft und Theaterwissenschaft, aktuell studiert sie Szenische Forschung in Bochum. Sie interessiert sich für die Schnittstelle von Ökologie und Kunst und recherchiert, probt und inszeniert vorwiegend draußen. Als bewegungsliebender Mensch arbeitet sie als Performerin für und mit unterschiedlichen Künstler*innen.

 

Locuratolo studiert Freie Kunst. Sie positioniert sich als filmischer Maler und Skulptur im Raum des Lebens. In ihren Arbeiten thematisiert sie Bewusstsein und Körper, Bewegung und Still-Stand, Transformation und Leben – im Einklang mit der Natur. Sie absolvierte ihren B.A. im Studiengang Soziale Arbeit mit dem Schwerpunkt Internationale Politik, M.A in Development Management u.a. in Kapstadt, Ecuador, Argentinien, Israel, Russland. Sie lernte an der Tanzschule für Improvisation und Performance in Freiburg.

 

Michael Maurissens (Mentoring) wurde in Brüssel geboren, wo er mit seinem Tanztraining begann. Weiter studierte er Tanz an der Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung in München (1991-1992) und an der Schweizerischen Ballettberufsschule in Zürich und war beim Ballett Nürnberg/ Tanzwerk Nürnberg, Ballett Freiburg pretty ugly, dem Nationaltheater Mannheim und Pretty Ugly Tanz Köln engagiert. Seit einigen Jahren arbeitet Michael Maurissens mit Medien über die Mittel der Tanzkunst hinaus, auf dem Gebiet des graphic design, der Fotografie und des Films (als Filmemacher, Kameramann und Cutter) und 2013 schloß er sein Postgraduiertenstudium an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln ab. Heute inszeniert und produziert er Filme, experimentelle Videoarbeiten, Performance-Dokumentationen und beteiligt sich an gemeinsamen visuellen Kunstprojekten.


Mit: Marlene Ruther und Locuratolo. Mentor: Michael Maurissens. Foto: Locu&Ruth. Eine Koproduktion von Locu&Ruth mit dem theaterimballsaal Bonn im Auftrag von „west off 2019 – Theaternetzwerk Rheinland“. Gefördert durch die Kulturämter der Städte Bonn, Düsseldorf und Köln sowie das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.