workshop with Bojan Jablanovec from Via Negativa

Im Rahmen der internationalen Performance-Reihe Eve of Destruction

 

In cooperation with FFT, the Slovenian group Via Negativa invites practitioners from the fields of performing and visual arts, theatre, dance and experimental research to get to know the artistic practice of the group during a three-day workshop. The „Via Negativa Performance Art Laboratory“ asks what performers do on stage and why they do it. It follows a special method of self-staging. The main goal of the workshop is to make the participants aware of their creative potentials and limits. The „Via Negativa Performance Art Laboratory“ does not teach acting techniques – the participants rely on their imagination, intuition, presence, energy and experience. The participants explore their own material, its performative potential and develop presentation strategies.

 

Working Theme POWER

 

The participants* are asked to prepare material on the working theme of POWER for presentation in the workshop. POWER works according to simple, basic and old principles. It is an eternal fascination. How do we fight against it and for it in our daily life?

 

As individuals and as a society, we live in a constant relationship to power, which forces us all to submit and to fit into a certain hierarchy of relationships: State, law, economy, religion, education, etc. The way in which an individual deals with or opposes power structures determines and shapes our personalities, identities, points of view. On the other hand, we need to assert (or negate) our own position of power in order to establish and maintain our existence and identity. We look for situations in which we feel strong and try to avoid situations in which we feel weak. There is a basic force that we could call the life force that is given to everyone. Art could also be a tool of power, it strengthens the personality, it makes the individual meaningful, and it has the ability to strengthen something that at first glance might be perceived as powerless. And of course it is also about abuse of power – at all levels of our private and social lives. War is the most violent and extreme demonstration of power in which we accelerate our domination of the other to the extent of life and death decisions. History could be read as a story about power. 

 

All information for download as PDF in German and English.

 

9th to 11th nov, 10 am till 5 pm, FFT Juta

Language: English

Recommended for practitioners with some previous knowledge. Participation is free of charge. Binding registration at: info@fft-duesseldorf.de

 


The workshop is part of the international performance series „Eve of Destruction“ funded by the Kunststiftung NRW.

Workshop mit Bojan Jablanovec von Via Negativa

Im Rahmen der internationalen Performance-Reihe Eve of Destruction

 

In Kooperation mit dem FFT lädt die slowenische Gruppe Via Negativa Praktiker*innen aus den Bereichen darstellende und bildende Kunst, Theater, Tanz und experimentelle Forschung ein, bei einem dreitägigen Workshop die künstlerische Praxis der Gruppe kennenzulernen. Das Via Negativa Performance Art Laboratory fragt, was Performer*innen auf der Bühne tun und warum sie es tun. Es folgt einer speziellen Methode der Selbstinszenierung. Hauptziel des Workshops ist es, den Teilnehmer*innen ihre kreativen Potenziale und Grenzen bewusst zu machen. Das Via Negativa Performance Art Laboratory unterrichtet keine Schauspieltechniken – die Teilnehmer verlassen sich auf ihre Vorstellungskraft, Intuition, Präsenz, Energie und Erfahrung. Die Teilnehmer*innen erforschen ihr eigenes Material, dessen performative Potenziale und entwickeln Präsentationsstrategien.

 

Arbeitsthema POWER

Die Teilnehmer*innen werden gebeten, Material rund um das Arbeitsthema POWER zur Präsentation im Workshop vorzubereiten. POWER arbeitet nach einfachen, grundlegenden und alten Prinzipien. Es ist eine ewige Faszination. Wie kämpfen wir in unserem täglichen Leben dagegen und dafür?

 

Als Individuen und als Gesellschaft leben wir in einem ständigen Verhältnis zur Macht, die uns alle zwingt, uns zu unterwerfen und in eine bestimmte Hierarchie von Beziehungen einzufügen: Staat, Recht, Wirtschaft, Religion, Bildung usw. Die Art und Weise, wie sich ein Individuum mit Machtstrukturen beschäftigt oder sich ihnen widersetzt, bestimmt und gestaltet unsere Persönlichkeiten, Identitäten, Standpunkte. Auf der anderen Seite haben wir das Bedürfnis, eine eigene Machtposition zu behaupten (oder zu negieren), um unsere Existenz und Identität zu etablieren und zu erhalten. Wir suchen nach Situationen, in denen wir uns stark fühlen und versuchen, Situationen zu vermeiden, in denen wir uns schwach fühlen. Es gibt eine Grundkraft, die wir als Lebenskraft bezeichnen könnten, die jedem gegeben wird. Die Kunst könnte auch ein Werkzeug der Macht sein, sie verstärkt die Persönlichkeit, sie macht den Einzelnen bedeutungsvoll und sie hat die Fähigkeit, etwas zu verstärken, das man auf den ersten Blick als machtlos wahrnehmen könnte. Und natürlich geht es auch um Machtmissbrauch – auf allen Ebenen unseres privaten und sozialen Lebens. Krieg ist die gewalttätigste und extremste Machtdemonstration, in der wir unsere Herrschaft über den anderen im Umfang von Lebens- und Todesentscheidungen beschleunigen. Geschichte könnte man als eine Geschichte über Macht lesen.

 

Alle Informationen zum Herunterladen als PDF in Deutsch und Englisch.

 

9.-11.11., 10-17 Uhr, FFT Juta

Arbeitssprache: Englisch

Teilnahme kostenlos. Anmeldung unter: info@fft-duesseldorf.de


Der Workshop wird im Rahmen der internationalen Performance-Reihe „Eve of Destruction“ gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW.